The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons, Christian McBride

When Philadelphia-born bassist/bandleader Christian McBride arrived in New York in 1989 as a Juilliard student, he was the “Godchild of the Groove” with unlimited potential. Today, with over 300 recordings as a sideman and 11 critically- acclaimed albums as a leader, he now reigns supreme as the “Lord of the Lower Frequencies.” He’s the influential and ubiquitous bassist of his generation, as evidenced by his quintet Inside Straight, his big band, his trio and his work with everybody from James Brown, Pat Metheny, Chick Corea and Wynton Marsalis to Sting, The Roots, Bruce Hornsby and Paul McCartney.

Episode #219

The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons, Christian McBride

The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons is culminating documentation of a richly inspired piece – lauding four key figures of the Civil Rights Movement: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Rosa Parks and Muhammad Ali. Marshaling his ever-sharpening skills as a composer, arranger, conductor, musician and lyricist, Christian McBride has created a historically and culturally illuminating five-part suite for an 18-piece big band, chorus and narrators that places the motivating forces as well as the goals of the Civil Rights Movement within a powerfully relevant artistic context. It is a one-from-the-heart project McBride was, apparently, destined to undertake. This recording of The Movement Revisited marks the addition of a fifth movement, “Apotheosis,” which acknowledges the election of Barack Obama as the first African American President of the United States.

Christian McBride: bass, composer, arranger

J.D. Steele: choral arranger, lead vocals on tracks 9 + 12

Alicia Olatuja: lead vocals on track 6

Sonia Sanchez narrates the words of Rosa Parks

Vondie Curtis-Hall narrates the words of Malcolm X

Dion Graham narrates the words of Muhammad Ali

Wendell Pierce narrates the words of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Sonia Sanchez, Vondie Curtis-Hall, Dion Graham and Wendell Pierce narrate the words of President Barack


Voices Of The Flame: Marvel Allen, Shani P. Baker, Jeffrey S. Bolding, Jeff Hamer, Susann Miles, Deborah Newallo,

Eunice Newkirk, Claudine Rucker, Trevor Smith, Melissa Walker

Steve Wilson: alto saxophone, flute • Todd Bashore: alto saxophone • Ron Blake: tenor, soprano saxophone •

Loren Schoenberg: tenor saxophone • Carl Maraghi: baritone saxophone

Michael Dease: trombone • Steve Davis: trombone • James Burton: trombone • Doug Purviance: bass trombone

Lew Soloff: trumpet • Ron Tooley: trumpet • Frank Greene: trumpet • Freddie Hendrix: trumpet • Darryl Shaw:


Warren Wolf: vibraphone, tambourine, timpani • Geoffrey Keezer: piano • Terreon Gully: drums

Episode #219

No Comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *